powered by probono.net

To leave this site now, use the X button.
If you are in danger, please use a safer computer.
In an emergency, call 911 or the National Domestic Violence Hotline at 1-800-799-7233 (TTY 1-800-787-3224). Computer use can be monitored and is impossible to completely clear.

Text size: A A A

WashingtonLawHelp.orgWashington LawHelp

Vehicle Repossession

Authored By: Northwest Justice Project LSC Funded

Your rights and the rules the creditor must follow when repossessing a car.

Contents

Watch Video

Download | Printer friendly

Download Sample Letter Requesting Return of Personal Property

Read Online

 

Should I read this?

When you finance a vehicle, you and your lender have important rights and obligations under the contract you signed and under state law. For example, if you do not make timely payments on the vehicle, your lender may have the right to “repossess” (take back) your car without going to court or warning you in advance. Read this to learn more about these rights and obligations.

 

When can a repossession take place?

The lender can seize your vehicle as soon as you “default” on your loan. Your contract defines what a “default” is. Failure to make a payment on time or to keep insurance on the vehicle are common reasons for default.

 

How does a repossession take place?

Once you are in default, the lender may repossess your car at any time.

  • They do not have to notify you before the repossession takes place.

  • The lender cannot commit a crime, use abusive language, enter a home without permission, or take an item if you physically resist.

  • Cars can be towed from public or private lots.

  • A car can be towed from your driveway if no other car is moved. It cannot be towed from your garage.

If there is a breach of the peace in seizing your car, your lender might have to pay a penalty or compensate you if any harm is done to you or your property. A breach of the peace also may give you a legal defense if your lender sues you to collect a “deficiency judgment.” That is the difference between what you owe on the contract (plus repossession and sale expenses) and what your lender gets from the resale of your vehicle.

 

What happens after a vehicle is repossessed? 

If you have paid more than 60 percent of the amount of the loan:

  • The lender must sell, lease, or otherwise dispose of the vehicle, unless you sign a statement after the default permitting the lender to keep the vehicle in full payment of the loan.

  • The sale must be held within 90 days of repossession.

  • The lender must send you written notice of the sale time and place.

If you have paid less than 60 percent of the amount of the loan:

  • The lender can keep the vehicle as payment for the loan or sell it.

  • The lender must send you written notice what it will do. If the lender decides to keep the vehicle, you have 21 days to protest in writing and demand they sell the vehicle. 

*If you are not sure how much you have paid, ask the lender for an accounting of the charges and your payments.

The proceeds from the sale go to cover the balance of the loan and the costs of the sale and repossession. They must return any money left over (“surplus”) to you. If the proceeds of the sale do not cover the loan and expenses (“deficiency”), the lender can sue you for the full amount owed, including repossession fees, auction costs, and legal fees.

 

Can I get a repossessed vehicle back?


Maybe. You have the right to redeem (buy back) the repossessed vehicle up until it is sold or within 21 days of getting notice that the lender is going to keep it. The cost to redeem the vehicle will depend on the terms of the contract. You may be liable for the cost of repossession and attorney's fees.

 

I cannot make a car payment. How can I avoid a repossession?

  • Contact your lender as soon as possible. Be honest about the situation and about why you cannot pay. If you have been a good customer and made payments on time in the past, your lender might agree to defer (put off) a payment and let you keep the car. If you can reach an agreement to change your original contract, get those new terms in writing. You can ask for an accounting so you can find out how much you still owe. Do not wait until the lender turns your loan over to a debt collector. By then, your lender has given up on you. It is too late to negotiate.

  • Your lender may refuse to take late payments or to make other changes in your contract. They may demand that you return the car. If you agree to a “voluntary repossession,” you may reduce your lender’s expenses, which you would be responsible for paying. Even if you return the car voluntarily, you must still pay any deficiency on your contract. The lender still can enter the late payments or repossession on your credit report.

  • Refinance. You may be able to negotiate a lower interest rate or spread out the payments over a longer period. This will lower your payments. The downside is that you will pay more interest. Compare loans from your current lender and others.

  • Sell the car to pay off the loan. Determine how much you owe on the vehicle. Then check its market value on a site such as EdmundsKelley Blue Book, or the National Auto Dealers Association (NADA) Used Car Pricing Guide (Pacific Northwest edition). If you owe less than the car is worth, sell it and use the cash to clear your debt. Before selling, review your financing agreement. See if the lender charges prepayment penalties for paying off your loan early.

  • Look for ways to save more money. Are you sure you cannot make your payment? You may be able to cut household expenses by eliminating other services you do not need. You might qualify for assistance programs to help cover groceries, utilities, or prescription drugs. You may also benefit from free credit counseling. Visit https://debtadvice.org/ to learn more.

  • Even if you return the car voluntarily, you must still pay any outstanding debt on the loan, and the lender’s costs of the repossession (interest, late fees, legal fees, costs of the sale, and so on). Your lender still may enter the late payments or repossession on your credit report.

 

They repossessed my car. Can I get back the things I had left in it?

A lender may not keep or sell any personal property found inside the vehicle after repossession. You should immediately make a written demand for the return of your personal property. Make a list of the property in the vehicle. (See the sample letter below.) Keep a copy of your property list, demand letter, and proof of mailing. If the lender does not return your personal property, you can file a complaint with the government agency that regulates that lender. (Search here for the agency that regulates your lender:  http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/Home.aspx/MainSearch.) You may also file a small claim for the value of your lost property. Read How do I sue in Small Claims Court at washingtonlawhelp.org.

 

Can I pay the deficiency?

Any difference between what you owe on your contract (plus certain expenses) and what your lender gets for reselling the vehicle is a “deficiency.” Example: You owe $10,000 on the car. Your lender sells it for $7,500. The deficiency is $2,500 plus any other fees you owe under the contract. Those might include fees related to the repossession or early payoff of your loan. The lender can sue you for a deficiency judgment to collect the remaining amount owed if it followed the proper procedures for repossession and sale.

*If you are served with legal papers called a Summons and Complaint, read How do I Answer a Lawsuit for Debt Collection on Washington LawHelp. You should also consult with an attorney about possible legal defenses you may have. You must act immediately! You only have a short time to respond to preserve your rights and avoid a default judgment. Our interactive interview, Answer a Lawsuit for Debt Collection, can help.

Your lender must pay you if there are surplus funds after they apply the sale proceeds to the outstanding contract obligation and related expenses. This does not happen often.

If you are facing, or already in, bankruptcy, ask a lawyer about your rights to the vehicle during that process.

 

What is an Electronic Disabling Device?

Some lenders might not provide you financing unless you agree to the installation of an electronic device that tracks the vehicle’s movement with the global positioning system (GPS) or keeps your car from starting if you do not make payments on time.

 

Get Legal Help

Visit Northwest Justice Project to find out how to get legal help. 

 

Last Review and Update: Jul 17, 2020
YouTube